Event 4 & 5

Trouble in the Wind: Concert

On Saturday, November 13, 2010, I went to attend the MandoBasso event at It’s a Grind in Carlsbad at 7pm. However, one of the musicians was sick, so it was cancelled. Driving an hour to attend this event, I was on a mission to find another event. Luckily, I was allowed to use another event to count for two, so it still ended up working out.

My classmate and I found a local bar, Boar Cross’n that was known for hosting bands. When we entered the bar, we noticed it consisted of pool tables, patio bar, lots of plasma screens, and had Vegas style lighting. We also noticed a sign that said a band was about to play: Trouble in the Wind. It also stated that it was a mix of folk and rock. Intrigued by the genre, we decided to stay and listen. Unfortunately, the quality of our pictures didn’t come out very well because of the lighting. However, the experience we had is something that we will never forget.

What was significant for me was the fact that this was the first bar that I have ever been to. That is one thing that I will always remember: going to my first bar for a school assignment! Another thing I will remember a year from now are the instruments some of the band members played. I was expecting the usual guitar and drums. However, I was surprised to see a bass and accordion! The combination of the instruments and diverse looks of the musicians were unique and different. The bass player was dressed in a white long-sleeved collared shirt with black slacks, while the singer and the rest of the group were dressed casual. It looked like the bass player didn’t quite fit in, yet you could see the passion in the way he played.

The bass player’s passion is something that was inspiring. In fact, the whole group’s passion was clearly evident. They were so into their music. Even though I couldn’t understand the words of the songs, it was somewhat entertaining to watch the band because they were absorbed in their music. I thought the instrumentals were great, and I thought overall they sounded good. It was an interesting combination hearing the folk genre with the rock. You could definitely tell when the folk part came in, and I think it added a bit of flair to the overall performance.

Overall, I think Trouble in the Wind was a good band, however I don’t think I would pay money to see them play at a concert. It is not really my genre of music that I think I would listen to on a regular basis. However, I am glad I had a chance to see them and be exposed to their music. It was a good experience, and although I was disappointed for not being able to see MandoBasso, it was a good alternative.

Leave a Reply

