The Year of Living Dangerously

I really enjoyed this movie, The Year of Living Dangerously. I have never heard of this story, and it was nice to see familiar faces in the movie along with some new faces. I liked how there were diverse personalities within the characters. One of my favorite characters was Billy.

Guy Hamilton, played by Mel Gibson, enters Jakarta as an Australian reporter on assignment in politically unstable Indonesia. Billy, a dwarf and photographer, takes Guy under his wing, and they soon become partners. Billy comes across as a nice guy, however I had my suspicions that he had ulterior motives in the beginning. When Guy finds out that Billy has kept a file on him, it made me question whether Billy was a good guy or a spy. However, my suspicions were subsided when Billy went to visit Ibu, a lady he has adopted who has a child. He gives her food and money because the child is sick. This is when I knew that Billy really does have a good heart, and he really does believe in the good of people. His compassion for others is so strong, and although he is a dwarf, he doesn’t let that get in the way of helping others. My likeness towards Billy grew strong, and when he died, it left tears in my eyes. It was sad to see him go, and I wish he was on the plane with Guy and Jill in the end.

Overall, I was very pleased with this movie. Even though it was a movie based on war, I felt it was also a good representation of love and friendship. The relationships that Guy made with Billy and Jill are realistic interpretations of life. I would definitely recommend this film to others, and it is a movie I would like to watch again.

Leave a Reply

