Viva la Revolución: A Dialogue with the Urban Landscape

On Friday, October 15, 2010, I went to visit the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego (MCASD). The museum was holding an exhibit, which was Viva la Revolución: A Dialogue with the Urban Landscape. This is the first international museum exhibition of street art that takes place both inside and outside MCASD downtown. It features works by 20 different artists from 10 countries. I was speechless (and still am) at how talented these artists are! Each artist has their own style, and it was AMAZING to have the opportunity to view all the different works of art! They were all inspiring in their own way. There were two artists that were my favorite: Ryan McGinness and JR.

I was really intrigued by McGinness’s work. I loved the colors he uses in his works and that there is so much going on! It reminds me of Where’s Waldo. Every time I looked at one of his pieces, I found something new. For example in one of the pictures, one can see a pyramid of suitcases at the bottom with scissors in the background. The layering of different objects, how he contrasted different colors, and still made his pieces flow amazes me. It also reminds me of a different type of collage. Having a love of collages, it has inspired me to try something of this sort in my own art!

I was also inspired by JR’s work of art. This work of art is the one that looked like a movie theater with pictures of people all around. It was quite humorous looking at some of the people’s faces, and I liked how the pictures were in a series. This work of art also reminded me of a type of collage. I liked how it was in black-and-white. In contrast to McGinness’s colorful, chaotic work, JR’s was more structured in rows and columns with shades instead of colors. I really enjoyed this piece.

Overall, I am really glad I had the chance to visit this museum. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to view all of the outdoor pieces, but from what I did see, they were amazing as well. Below are some other pieces that I enjoyed. I am also glad that I was exposed to these extraordinary artists as well. I will always remember this experience and am glad we had the chance to take pictures!

Leave a Reply

